Planning Commission

The Plumas County Planning Commission is comprised of five citizens appointed by the Supervisor of their district to represent five geographic areas in the county. The Board of Supervisors appointed the Commission to provide recommendations on issues concerning Plumas County's General Plan, and to promote public interest regarding the future direction of development in Plumas County. Plumas County Planning and Building Services provides professional and support services to the Commission.

District 1 – Vacant
District 2 – Moorea Hoffman Stout
District 3 – Vacant
District 4 – Larry Williams (Chair 2020)
District 5 – John Olofson (Vice-Chair 2020)

The Planning Commission meets on the first and third Thursdays of each month at 10:00 a.m. in the Planning & Building Services Conference room, 555 Main Street, Quincy. For more information regarding the Planning Commission link on the Planning Commission Members (PDF) located on the left hand column of this webpage or call or email: Tracey Ferguson, AICP, Plumas County Planning Director at (530) 283-6214 or

Agenda and Minutes 

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. 
Most Recent AgendaView All

Minutes are also available following approval. 
Most Recent MinutesView All

Upcoming Public Hearing

DATE: Thursday, April 16, 2020
TIME: 10:00 a.m.
520 Main Street


Proposed Ordinance of the County of Plumas, State of California, Amending Plumas County Code Title 9 (Planning and Zoning), Chapter 2, Article 2 to Add the Definitions of “Commercial Social Event, Limited” and “Commercial Social Event” and Articles 30 (Agricultural Preserve) and 31 (General Agriculture) to Add “Commercial Social Event, Limited” as a Use Subject to the Issuance of an Administrative Use Permit and “Commercial Social Event” as a Use Subject to the Issuance of a Special Use Permit and the Addition of Articles 6.3 (Administrative Use Permit) and 44 (Commercial Social Event, Limited) Establishing Processes, Thresholds, and Standards for the Establishment of the New Uses

Public Hearing - Recommendation by the Planning Commission to the Plumas County Board of Supervisors re: Adoption of Proposed Ordinance Regarding Establishment of Definitions, Processes, Thresholds and Standards for the New Uses of “Commercial Social Event, Limited” and “Commercial Social Event” in the Agricultural Preserve (AP) and the General Agriculture (GA) Zoning Categories and Determination under the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA).

The Board of Supervisors approved Resolution No. 2020-8459 (Resolution of Intention to Review and Consider Amendments to the Plumas County Code Title 9 Planning and Zoning, Chapter 2 Zoning, to Establish Commercial Wedding Venues as a Use Allowed in Certain Zone(s) and Allowed by What Process(es) and to Review and Consider Amendments to Resolutions Adopting the Uniform Rules Governing the Establishment and Administration of Agricultural Preserves, Including Compatible Uses) on January 14, 2020.

The Planning Commission held workshops at the meetings of February 20th, March 5th and March 19th of 2020 to review and amend the draft ordinance. The purpose of this hearing is to take public testimony and prepare a recommendation on the adoption of the ordinance and the determination under the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA).

There will be a hearing on the Draft Ordinance, CEQA determination, and amendment of Williamson Act compatible uses at a future noticed public hearing before the Board of Supervisors.

For further information, contact: 
Rebecca Herrin at Plumas County Planning and Building Services
555 Main Street, Quincy, CA
(530) 283-6213 or